UTHSCSA Faculty Profiles v1.0

Stevens, Kathleen R

School of Nursing
Office of Faculty Affairs and Diversity
(210) 567-3135

Dr. Kathleen R. Stevens is founding director of the center for excellence, the Academic Center for Evidence-based Practice (ACE); since 2000, she has garnered $7 million to support efforts that advance evidence-based quality improvement through research, education, and practice. Her funded program research emphasizes evidence-based quality improvement and patient safety through knowledge transformation, workforce preparation, and workforce engagement in evidence-based quality improvement.

She has received significant funding to develop a national network to support rigorous improvement research projects (NIH); to create community-wide collaborative for team training (UT System); and engage front line teams in quality improvement in acute care (RWJF). The goal of her recent work is to conduct projects that generate and disseminate evidence about interventions to improve care processes, systems, patient safety, and outcomes and to stimulate application of this evidence in practice by clinicians, patients and families, and other members of the health care system. For 2 years she has directed the development of the NIH funded infrastructure, the Improvement Science Research Network, and guide development of research collaboratives among its members. Her work capitalizes on interprofessional team science and leverages the power of collaboration through multi-site projects via a national cyber-based virtual research collaborative.

Her decade-long position as founding director of the Academic Center for EBP, a center of excellence, has afforded her broad experiences with multiple projects and sharpened her research and project implementation skills. In addition, her funded research includes co-PIs across multiple health professions. Much of her experience is based in the interprofessional environment of improvement teams and our local Clinical Translational Research Award. She is experienced in the field of improvement science, and an experienced scientist in evidence-based quality improvement with multiple large-scale grants, PI for multiple programs to advance professional development in quality improvement, an effective planner and group leader, and published in the field

Through her ACE center, Dr. Stevens initiated the ongoing Summer Institute on Evidence-Based Practice in 2002, a national interdisciplinary conference with multiple years of funding from AHRQ, as well as the Educators EBP Workshop. The new Improvement Science Summit, a research methods conference, launched in 2010, recently funded by AHRQ for 2011.

She served multiple terms as elected officer on the of the National League for Nursing, a leading nursing education organization that sets standards for faculty and nursing education programs, and Sigma Theta Tau, the international nursing honor society.

She acts in national level consultant and expert roles, including panel expert for the Institute of Medicines report, Preventing Medication Errors, advisory council member to safety projects of the National Institutes of Health and Department of Defense, and editorial board member for the AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange and provided services to AHRQ to build the AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange. She is consultant to hospitals seeking recognition of excellence and education programs in implementing EBP curricula.

Her work has earned her multiple awards, among these, fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, fellow of the Academy of Nurse Educators, Texas Nurses Association Nurse of the Year, and National League for Nursing Excellence in Nursing Education Research.

9/2005 - Present Professor University of Texas Health Science Center, Health Restoration and Care Systems Management, San Antonio, TX
9/1989 - Present Professor and Director University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Acute Nursing, San Antonio, TX